The Louvre Museum

An extraordinary museum

#louvre

ticket louvre

The Louvre Museum

Emblematic monument of Paris.

The Louvre is an emblematic museum of Paris, whose attractiveness contributes to the cultural influence of France throughout the world. This former royal palace, which became a museum at the end of the 18th century, is distinguished by the wealth of its collections acquired over the decades. Whether it’s for a few hours or several days, a visit to the Louvre offers an unforgettable immersion in its works of art.

ticket museum louvre paris

The Louvre is one of the greatest museums in the world. © Photo Theerayoot.

An extraordinary museum

In every respect, the Louvre is without doubt the largest museum in the world.

An immense surface area

The aisles of the Louvre cover an area of 73,000 square meters. These record dimensions, which represent nearly 15 km of galleries, are spread over more than 400 rooms, making it impossible to discover all the works in a single day. The best way to prepare for a visit to the Louvre is to choose the collections you want to see first, using the museum map.

museum paris

An impressive collection of works

The Louvre also has the largest collection of artworks in the world. In total, the museum’s holdings amount to almost 500,000 works. Fortunately, the galleries and rooms of the palace “only” display about 36,000 of them! Masterpieces, antique sculptures and ancient objects are spread over the three wings of the museum and are divided into eight departments.

museum paris joconde

The most visited museum

Finally, the Louvre is the museum with the highest number of visitors. Every year, almost 10 million people walk through the galleries of this former Royal Palace. To avoid a long wait at the entrance, it is therefore important to book your tickets online.

museum paris

Inside, the museum’s vast surface area makes it possible to enjoy the works without being cramped. However, some galleries and rooms are still busier than others.

Visiting the Louvre

The Louvre’s collections cover more than 10,000 years of history, and include works from all over the world. Their richness and diversity will appeal to all tastes! From Greek statues to masterpieces of Dutch painting and Renaissance art, all styles and eras are represented in the Louvre.

museum paris

Masterpieces of painting and sculpture

The Louvre is famous for the famous portrait of the Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci. But this is not the only masterpiece that the palace holds. With your ticket to the Louvre, you can discover the Venus de Milo, Theodore Géricault’s Raft of the Medusa, Eugène Delacroix’s Freedom Leading the People, and the Code of Hammurabi, the first legal text and historical treasure from Mesopotamia.

museum paris

A dive into antiquity

In addition to its impressive collection of classical paintings, the Louvre is also distinguished by the unique wealth of its antiquities. Most of these are the result of archaeological finds, and range from Europe to the Middle East.

museum paris egyptian

The Sully wing of the museum houses numerous pieces from Egyptian antiquity, for a marvellous dive into the history of this great civilisation. In particular, you will have the opportunity to discover the famous Sphinx, which guards the entrance to the collection, but also the Crouching Scribe or even the bust of Akhenaten. In addition to the Egyptian period, the Louvre also offers works from Eastern Antiquity and, of course, from Greek, Roman and Etruscan Antiquity.

Around the world

Since 2000, the Pavillon des Sessions at the Louvre has been home to works from the Musée du Quai Branly-Jacques Chirac, which is dedicated to the civilizations of Africa, Asia, Oceania and the Americas. The creation of this branch now allows the Louvre to present art objects from all continents. In this room, you will find ancient African sculptures, relics of the Mayan civilisation and even a giant statue from Easter Island.

Temporary exhibitions

Throughout the year, the Louvre offers its visitors temporary exhibitions. Included in your admission ticket, these exhibitions allow you to discover the history of art and the museum’s collections in a different light. They are structured around specific subjects and offer clear and educational explanations to help you learn from the works of art. Check out the temporary exhibitions on the day of your visit!

The Tuileries Garden

While you are at the Louvre, take a walk in the Tuileries Garden, outside the palace. Located in the heart of the capital, this garden, designed by Catherine de Médicis, is distinguished by the charm of its colourful flowerbeds, its shady paths and its ponds.

museum paris egyptian

The Tuileries garden also offers several activities, playgrounds for children and merry-go-rounds. You will even have something to eat: ideal after visiting the museum.

Useful information:

Entrance to the Louvre is free for under 18s.

ticket museum louvre paris

The main entrance to the museum is accessible from the Pyramid. If you have purchased your ticket online, a dedicated queue allows you to enter the museum in less than 30 minutes. The other entrances are located at the Lions Gate and in the Carrousel Gallery.

museum paris

Photographs are possible if the “flash” is not activated.

Cloakrooms: The Louvre offers a free cloakroom at the entrance. You can leave your personal belongings there to fully enjoy the art collections.

#schedule
ticket parc guell horaire

Opening hours:

Open every day from 9AM to 6PM.
Last admission at 5PM.

Closed on Tuesdays.

Time required:

More than one day.

#plan

 

Itinerary

By metro:

  L1  St. Musée du Louvre (at 5 min)

  L7  St. Musée du Louvre (at 5 min)

By bus:

Stop Palais Royal | Musée du Louvre :
Lines 21, 24, 27, 39, 48, 68, 69, 72, 81, 95.

By car:

Parking INDIGO – Louvre Samaritaine (at 200 meters).

Discover other great monuments such as the Sagrada Família, Park Güell, BCN Citypass, the Colosseum, the Torre Belém. Unofficial website, louvre-museum-ticket.com does not depend on any official body.

Le Musée du Louvre

Billeterie en ligne inofficielle du Musée.

#louvre

ticket louvre

Musée du Louvre

Monument emblématique de Paris.

Musée emblématique de Paris, dont l’attractivité œuvre au rayonnement culturel de la France dans le monde, le musée du Louvre est un lieu à la fois incontournable et prestigieux de la capitale française. Cet ancien palais royal, devenu musée à la fin du XVIIIème siècle, se distingue par la richesse de ses collections acquises au fil des décennies. Que ce soit le temps de quelques heures ou sur plusieurs jours, la visite du musée du Louvre offre à chaque fois une immersion inoubliable au milieu de ses œuvres d’art.

ticket museum louvre paris

Le Louvre est l’un des plus grands musées du Monde. © Photo Theerayoot.

Un musée hors-norme

À tous les égards, le musée du Louvre est sans aucun doute le plus grand musée au monde.

Une superficie immense

Les allées du Louvre se déploient sur une surface de 73 000 m². Ces dimensions records, qui représentent près de 15 km de galeries, se répartissent dans plus de 400 salles, rendent la découverte de toutes les œuvres impossible en une seule journée. L’idéal est donc de bien préparer sa visite du Louvre, en choisissant les collections que l’on souhaite voir en priorité, grâce au plan du musée.

museum paris

Une collection d’œuvres impressionnante

Le musée du Louvre dispose aussi de la plus grande collection d’œuvres d’art au monde. Au total, ce sont près de 500 000 œuvres qui composent le fond du musée. Fort heureusement, les galeries et les salles du palais n’exposent « seulement » qu’environ 36 000 d’entre elles ! Tableaux de maîtres, sculptures antiques et objets anciens se répartissent ainsi dans les trois ailes du musée, et sont divisées en huit départements.

museum paris joconde

Le musée le plus visité

Enfin, le musée du Louvre est celui qui accueille le plus grand nombre de visiteurs. Chaque année ce sont près de 10 millions de personnes qui arpentent les galeries de cet ancien Palais Royal. Pour éviter une longue attente à l’entrée, il est donc important de réserver ses billets en ligne.

museum paris

À l’intérieur, la vaste superficie du musée permet de profiter des œuvres sans être à l’étroit. Certaines galeries et certaines salles demeurent toutefois plus fréquentées que d’autres.

Visiter le musée du Louvre

Les collections du musée du Louvre couvrent plus de 10 000 ans d’histoire, et proposent des œuvres issues du monde entier. Leur richesse et leur diversité combleront ainsi tous les goûts ! Des statues grecques aux chefs-d’œuvre de la peinture hollandaise, en passant par les objets d’art de la Renaissance, tous les styles et toutes les époques sont présents au Louvre.

museum paris

Les chefs-d’œuvre de la peinture et de la sculpture

Le musée du Louvre est notamment célèbre pour accueillir entre ses murs le fameux portrait de la Joconde, peint par Leonard de Vinci. Mais ce n’est pas le seul chef-d’œuvre que le palais réserve. Avec votre billet pour le Louvre, vous pourrez notamment découvrir la Vénus de Milo, Le Radeau de la Méduse de Theodore Géricault, La Liberté guidant le peuple d’Eugène Delacroix, ou encore le Code de Hammourabi, premier texte de loi et trésor historique issu de Mésopotamie.

museum paris

Une plongée dans l’Antiquité

Au-delà de son impressionnante collection de tableaux classiques, le Louvre se distingue aussi par la richesse unique de ses antiquités. La plupart d’entre elles sont issues de trouvailles archéologiques, et s’étendent de l’Europe jusqu’au Moyen-Orient.

museum paris egyptian

L’aile Sully du musée accueille ainsi de nombreuses pièces de l’Antiquité égyptienne, pour une plongée merveilleuse dans l’histoire de cette grande civilisation. Vous aurez notamment l’occasion de découvrir le célèbre Sphinx, qui garde l’entrée de la collection, mais aussi le Scribe accroupi ou même le buste d’Akhenaton. Outre la période égyptienne, le Louvre propose aussi des œuvres de l’Antiquité orientale et, bien sûr, de l’Antiquité grecque, romaine et étrusque.

Aux quatre coins du monde

Le pavillon des Sessions du musée du Louvre accueille, depuis 2000, des œuvres du musée du Quai Branly-Jacques Chirac, dédié aux civilisations d’Afrique, d’Asie, d’Océanie et des Amériques. La création de cette antenne permet désormais au Louvre de présenter des objets d’art issus de tous les continents. Dans cette salle, vous trouverez ainsi d’anciennes sculptures africaines, des vestiges de la civilisation Maya et même une statue géante de l’île de Pâques.

Les expositions temporaires

Tout au long de l’année, le musée du Louvre propose à ses visiteurs des expositions temporaires. Comprises dans votre billet d’entrée, ces expositions vous permettront de découvrir l’histoire de l’art et les collections du musée sous un autre jour. Articulées autour de sujets précis, elles proposent des explications claires et pédagogiques pour apprendre grâce aux œuvres d’art. Vérifiez ainsi l’actualité des expositions temporaires le jour de votre visite !

Le jardin des Tuileries

Profitez de votre présence au Louvre pour vous promener dans le jardin des Tuileries, à l’extérieur du palais. Situé en plein cœur de la capitale, ce jardin imaginé par Catherine de Médicis se distingue par le charme de ses parterres colorés, ses allées ombragées et ses bassins.

museum paris egyptian

Le jardin des Tuileries propose aussi plusieurs activités, des aires de jeux pour les enfants ou encore des manèges. Vous aurez même de quoi vous restaurer : Idéal après la visite du musée.

Informations utiles :

L’entrée au Louvre est gratuite pour les moins de 18 ans.

ticket museum louvre paris

À savoir sur le ticket coupe-file : L’entrée principale du musée est accessible depuis la Pyramide. Si vous avez acheté votre billet en ligne, une file dédiée vous permet d’accéder au musée en moins de 30 minutes. Les autres entrées se situent à la Porte des Lions et dans la galerie du Carrousel.

museum paris

Les photographies possibles à condition de ne pas activer le « flash ».

Vestiaires : Le musée du Louvre propose à l’entrée un vestiaire gratuit. Vous pourrez y déposer vos effets personnels pour profiter pleinement des collections d’œuvre d’Art.

#horaires
ticket parc guell horaire

Horaires :

Ouvert tous les jours de 9H à 18H.
Dernière admission à 17H.

Fermé le mardi.

Temps à prévoir :

Plus d’une journée.

#plan

 

Itinéraire

En métro :

  L1  St. Musée du Louvre  (à 1 min)

  L7  St. Musée du Louvre  (à 1 min)

En bus :

Arrêt Palais Royal | Musée du Louvre :
Lignes 21, 24, 27, 39, 48, 68, 69, 72, 81, 95.

En voiture :

Parking INDIGO – Louvre Samaritaine (à 200 mètres).

Discover other great monuments such as the Sagrada Família, Park Güell, BCN Citypass, the Colosseum, the Torre Belém. louvre-museum-ticket.com does not depend on any official body.